Recipe: Cauliflower and Leek Risotto

Risotto is not for the impatient cook. I never met another food that required so much constant attention while making you oh so very hungry in exchange. Perhaps I shouldn’t have started this recipe on a relatively empty stomach, but with each addition of another 1/2 cup of liquid to the bubbling rice I found myself praying that it would hurry up and absorb so that I could sink my teeth into the finished product.

My previous attempt at a more classic risotto sort of failed. I was hasty with adding the broth into the rice, resulting in a sort of chewy and hard risotto instead of the perfectly creamy texture that this recipe achieved. I also love that this iteration includes leeks, which I’m using pretty often these days. I love that you can saute them down or roast them in the oven, but they don’t get mushy. They always manage to hold on to a certain degree of texture and a lovely mild flavor.

This is also a great way to camouflage cauliflower for those who don’t care for it much. I’ve personally never met a vegetable that I didn’t like, but I know that many people complain that cauliflower is bland and boring… not when you add hearty vegetable broth and melt in grated parmesan! In all honesty, I doubt very much that someone would notice it too much unless you pointed it out to them.

I ended up topping this with a crumble of goat cheese, because let’s face it — what do I not top with goat cheese? I liked the way that the tangy goat cheese played off of the otherwise smooth and creamy texture and flavor of the risotto. I ate this both as a main dish for dinner and as a side another night — works both ways!

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Recipes

Leave a Reply

