Les Portes de Paris

It’s been about 5 months since I came back from my trip to France, and I’m definitely experiencing a bit of travel withdrawal at the moment. I don’t know what it is exactly, but sometimes I have those days where the air temperature is just right or the sunlight is hitting the city in such a way that I’m instantly whisked back to a past trip. Subsequently, I become quite “away-sick” for places I’ve been to and loved. Last week, I found myself daydreaming about the streets of Paris and the beautiful and mysterious wooden doors that dot les rues.

These huge wooden doors are pretty common to see as entrances to apartments and businesses, and they usually open up into a courtyard. I remember being really excited on my first trip to Paris as a middle school-er to see doors like this propped open — it was as though I was being given an exclusive peek into the real lives of Parisians. I must confess that ten years later, when my friend and I rented a Paris apartment, I was just as enthused over having our very own wooden apartment doors to come home to at night as I was back then. The apartment certainly wasn’t glamorous, but closing the doors behind us as we stepped into the courtyard, I couldn’t help but feel like I was on the other side of the mystery I’d been so captivated by as a kid!

{Images (top to bottom): 1, 2, 3, 4}

1 Comment

Filed under Travel

One response to “Les Portes de Paris

  1. Eric

    Very cool observation and your sequence of photos transports us and leaves me “Wondering” too; what lies behind them. Real world Narnian portals?
    Fall is a terrific time of year, when the sunlight comes at a lower angle and has a magical way of making objects and scenes just POP! with an intensity and definition not found in the other seasons. When you come upon such a scene, take it in and or “Take the shot,” for in 2 minutes it will be gone.

    Nice article Kristen. Thanks for the trip!

Leave a Reply

