Paris, je t’aime

I’m back, mes amis, after a fantastic week of dining, shopping, and hanging out in France. The week definitely went by way too fast, but I was happy to be able to visit with some friends who I don’t get to see very often and practice my French (I’m more than just a little rusty, malheureusement).

After I took a little time to practice yoga in front of the Eiffel Tower (just kidding… I saw someone else bridging for a photo op, so naturally I had to do it too), I got to the important part of the trip: eating. And lots. Our first stop was to the famous Ladurée for an afternoon snack of macarons. As you probably have figured out by now, macarons are sort of my thing, so I was pretty thrilled to sample some from the place credited with inventing them. The flavors I tried were (clockwise, from top left) Red current-Violet, Green Apple, Chocolate-Lime, and Salted Caramel with Fleur de Sel. Yum.

The most fun place that I ate was at Fauchon, a trendy epicerie/restaurant/cafe. I first heard about this place from Gala Darling’s post about it, and I knew that I needed to stop by. There are actually two buildings, both located on Place de la Madeleine in the 8th arrondissement. One houses a shop with all kinds of lovely jams, spices, oils, and packaged chocolates and cookies. There is also a restaurant upstairs, which I didn’t eat at since I happened to be on my own that day. The second building has all kinds of pastries, and also has a more casual à la carte dining area. I chose an amazing shrimp, spinach, avocado and green apple salad along with a big ol’ mug of café au lait. This place is not inexpensive, even for lunch, but it was totally worth it. I also picked up some lemon olive oil and a jar of strawberry-rose jam, labeled “Love Preserve”. Apparently there used to be a Fauchon location in New York, but it closed! What a bummer. You can still buy a limited selection of their products online here.

I have so many more fun things to share about my trip, but I’ll need to save them for the next few days as I re-enter the “real world” and try not to dream about Paris at my desk. Le sigh!

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Travel

2 responses to “Paris, je t’aime

  1. Eric

    Welcome home! I can’t wait to hear more about your trip!

  2. Sounds like an amazing trip. The food looks amazing.

Leave a Reply

