Planning for Paris

So, I’ve sort of alluded to the fact that I may or may not be taking a little jaunt over to Europe this spring (I planned my wardrobe already). I am actually going in just a little over three weeks! I’ll be visiting friends in Geneva and Lyon who I haven’t seen in a while. I’m pretty psyched about the whole thing… it’s only been a year since I was last in Europe, but the last time I was in France was nearly 10 years ago! It was my first international trip at the tender age of 13 with my grandparents, and I credit that trip for shaping so much of who I am today.

What I’m most excited about is that my good friend from college who now lives in Lyon asked me on Skype a few weeks ago, “Wanna take a few days and go to Paris?” Exactly what I was hoping she’d say! Immediately I had visions of pain au chocolat, macarons, and the glass ceiling at Printemps dancing in my head!

The only problem about Paris is that it’s pretty expensive, much like New York. My friend and I are going to try a new kind of accommodation during our stay in the city of lights: apartment rental! I first heard about short-term apartment rentals when I stumbled across Grantourismo!, a really cool blog written by a professional travel writing couple who traveled for a year staying only in apartment rentals — no hotels! I had the pleasure of meeting one of the writers during their stay in New York, and the more I learned about their experiences, the more I was intrigued by the idea of trying it myself. We’re working on booking now through Homeaway.com, so I’ll let you know how it goes!

Thanks to Jason on Flickr for the photo!

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel

Leave a Reply

