Roasted Brussel Sprouts at Alta, NYC

For my birthday this year, my boyfriend took me out for a nice dinner at Alta, a tapas restaurant downtown. A friend of mine recommended the restaurant to us and told me that we couldn’t miss out on their brussel sprout dish. I like brussel sprouts, but they definitely aren’t high on my “must-have” vegetables list — as my sister once put it when she was little, brussel sprouts are sort of just little “cabbage wannabes.”

The dish at Alta ended up being delicious, and so naturally I wanted to re-create it at home. I found this recipe online that was pretty close to what we had at the restaurant. I didn’t have any pistachios on hand, so I went without them this time, but it was still a successful dish! The sweetness of the apples balances out the slight bitterness of the crispy outer leaves. The balsamic vinegar and honey reduction pulls everything together nicely and makes this an easy side dish to baked chicken.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Recipes

Leave a Reply

