Wagashi from Minamoto Kitchoan

So, it’s my birthday. Wahoo. I’m not feeling particularly celabratory about this one, but I’m still a young 20-something so I can’t complain! I’m looking forward to spending a long weekend with my boyfriend, visiting my sister and seeing some friends along the way! My awesome roommate gave me my birthday gifts last night, which included these amazing wagashi from Minamoto Kitchoan, a beautiful Japanese sweets shop in New York.

She even remembered that my absolute favorite seasonal treat is the sakuranbo (pictured above in the pink wrapper), a rainier cherry suspended in a subtly cherry-flavored gelatin. It was too tempting to wait to eat them, so naturally I brewed myself a cup of hot tea and dug in! If that isn’t a nice way to start a birthday, I don’t know what is!

Also, did you notice that my pictures are exponentially better in this post? Of course you did! That’s courtesy of my awesome Dad and step-mom who gifted me with a brand-new Canon Powershot SD1400 for my birthday! I’m beyond psyched, especially as I have an upcoming trip across the pond (more on that later!).

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, New York City, Random

Leave a Reply

