Midnight Snack: Spot Dessert Bar

On Friday night, New York City was overtaken by fashionistas for Fashion’s Night Out, an annual event created by Vogue Editor-in-Chief Anna Wintour. My friends and I roamed the streets of SoHo, ducking into boutiques to (window) shop and have a glass of wine to celebrate New York Fashion Week. We had fun people-watching and spotting celebs (Kanye West, Jimmy Fallon, AND Anna Wintour!), but it was crowded and we were hungry after a few hours! Luckily, Spot Dessert Bar isn’t too far away.

Spot opened last winter in a below street level location on St. Mark’s that used to be one of those shops that sold dragon and fairy figurines and incense. I find Spot to be a much better tenant! They are open until 1am on Thursday, Friday and Saturday, so you can grab something sweet if you are out late! The desserts are really innovative and fuse classic plates with Asian flavors. Some of the “dessert tapas” incorporate unsuspected ingredients like yuzu or miso, and there is an avocado parfait on the menu that I’m dying to try!

I went for a make your own sundae dessert: a scoop of sweetened condensed milk ice cream (words cannot describe how much I love this flavor), a scoop of chocolate ginger sorbet, caramel sauce and chocolate pearls. Et voila! Pretty ice cream masterpiece!

Something else that I really love about Spot is that their ingredients are fresh and natural, and they are very eco-conscious with their serving utensils and their decor. My only complaint is that it’s a little expensive (my ice cream was almost $8), but once in a while you have to splurge on something tasty, right? Check out their website here for the menu and location information!

6 Comments

Filed under Food, New York City

6 responses to “Midnight Snack: Spot Dessert Bar

  1. oh looks super yummy xxx

  2. I am literally at work starving for this right now, gotta go my boss is coming, Great post, I will be back to check out what else you eat!!! mmm x

    iUNDEREYE.blogspot.com

  3. If there was a Spot where I live I don’t think I would be able to keep away! Delicious!

  4. Kristen

    It is a difficult temptation to resist! Looking at the picture again is making me hungry!!

  5. Helloooo lovah! I’d like to dig right into that dessert!

    And I love that it’s all natural!

  6. i love hearing about other people’s experiences at FNO. never been to spot but looking forward to checking it out!

Leave a Reply

