Macaron Success!

After seeing this post on Cupcakes and Cashmere about macarons, I decided that last weekend was the perfect time to make a batch for myself. It’s been too hot and humid all summer to make a good meringue, but the weather cooled off just enough that I thought it would work.

After one frustrating batch that didn’t work out because of my laziness (should have gone to the store to buy parchment paper because the cookies completely stick to waxed paper!), I managed to churn out two batches of lovely French delicacies. Please note the signature “pied” (“foot” en français) on the cookies too! That’s the part that looks crispy, and it’s formed when the almond flour properly settles through the meringue.

I tried out the salted caramel recipe, and it was a big hit! Everyone who tried them loved the combination of sweet and salty. For the second batch, I made a simple rose buttercream by adding a tablespoon of rose water. I love rose-flavored sweets, and these have such a delicate flavor that you only taste a hint of floral.

When making colored and flavored macarons, I usually consult my copy of “I Love Macarons” by Hisako Ogita. Besides being a really cute and colorful book, it has a lot of great tips for customizing flavors. Everything ends up being sort of trial-and-error though — meringue is extremely fickle, and sometimes even adding one too many drops of food coloring to it will make it runny and flat. I’m interested in trying to do a plum flavored macaron next! Anyone have other suggestions?

4 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes

4 responses to “Macaron Success!

  1. Congrats! Those look so lovely, I can’t believe they’re homemade.

  2. Congrats! They seem absolutely perfect!
    xxx

    http://gypsy-diaries.blogspot.com/

    P.S: I’m running an amazing Hallelu boho bag giveaway that I bet you’d love! 😉

  3. Kristen

    Thank you! Now I’m obsessed… can’t wait to make another batch 🙂

  4. Aww Wow. I love Macaroons. To be honest i tried my first ones last month in Sydney. I got the salted caramel one actually- and it was AMAZING!. Well done with the meringue.

Leave a Reply

