Resident Tourist

My dad is an absolutely fantastic photographer. Unfortunately for him, my siblings and I were often embarrassed by his tendency to whip out the camera to document every single moment. As a result, there are a few too many pictures of us with that “are you seriously taking a picture right now?” smile on our faces. Fortunately for me though, his photography instilled an appreciation for moments that we often take for granted.

Being a New Yorker, I walk by interesting people, bizarre situations and downright remarkable buildings and public art on a regular basis. Because it is a part of where I am, I usually end up just smiling to myself and continuing my walk to wherever I am headed. Tonight as I was walking home from the grocery store, I noticed how brilliant the sunset was over the Hudson. As I continued to walk home I thought to myself, “Dad would take a picture of that,” and so I turned around, pulled out my Power Shot, and snapped a photo with three grocery bags hanging off of my arms. I’m sure that people in my neighborhood were wondering what the hell I was doing — I hope they at least looked and saw the sunset.

7 Comments

Filed under New York City, Random

7 responses to “Resident Tourist

  1. Beautiful words, beautiful view, and a beautiful appreciation.

  2. Don’t worry, I do the same all the time. I feel sometimes that I have to capture the small things around me that I take for granted so I won’t ever forget them. What kind of camera did you use?

    • Kristen

      Agreed! I just use a Canon PowerShot SD600, but it is sort of on its way out… Looking to get back into using an SLR, but the price tags have been too daunting so far!

  3. LOL – my Dad was exactly the same when i was younger xxxxx

    • Kristen

      Haha you know what I’m talking about then! It was so mortifying when I was younger, but now I don’t even think twice about it.

  4. Pingback: Wagashi from Minamoto Kitchoan | Non-Plastic

Leave a Reply

